Award Recipients

Richard J. Bogomolny National Service Award

Named in recognition of the outstanding leadership of former CMA Board Chairman, the Richard J. Bogomolny National Service Award is presented to an individual or organization who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the chamber music field and enriched our national culture by fostering a greater appreciation for chamber music.

 2022 Recipient: Tania León

Born in Cuba, Tania León is highly regarded as a composer and conductor, recognized for her accomplishments as an educator and advisor to arts organizations.

In 2021, León’s orchestral work Stride, commissioned by the New York Philharmonic, was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in Music. Additional accolades include the New York Governor’s Lifetime Achievement, awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the ASCAP Victor Herbert Award, and a United States Artists Fellowship.

León is the founder and Artistic Director of the nonprofit organization and festival, Composers Now, which is dedicated to the empowerment of living composers by celebrating the diversity of their voices and honoring the significance of their artistic contributions to the cultural fabric of society. 

León has been the subject of profiles on ABC, CBS, CNN, PBS, Telemundo and Univision, including their noted series “Orgullo Hispano” which celebrates living American Latinos whose contributions in society have been invaluable.

Michael Jaffee Visionary Award

Created in 2016 and renamed in 2021 to honor CMA’s visionary founder, the Michael Jaffee Visionary Award recognizes promising, creative thinkers and innovators who are challenging traditional models and have recently had—or are on the way to having—a noticeable impact on the ensemble music field.

2022 Recipient: Seth Parker Woods

Cellist Seth Parker Woods has established a reputation as a versatile artist straddling several genres. In addition to solo performances, he has appeared with the Ictus Ensemble (Brussels, BE), Ensemble L’Arsenale (IT), zone Experimental (CH), Basel Sinfonietta (CH), Ensemble LPR, Orchestra of St. Luke’s, and the Atlanta and Seattle Symphonies.

A fierce advocate for contemporary arts, Woods has collaborated and worked with a wide range of artists ranging from the likes of Louis Andriessen, Elliott Carter, Heinz Holliger, G. F. Haas, Helmut Lachenmann, Klaus Lang, and Peter Eötvos.

Woods’s debut solo album, asinglewordisnotenough (Confront Recordings-London, 2016), garnered great acclaim and has been profiled in The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, The Guardian, and Strings Magazine, amongst others. 

In the 2021-22 season, Woods joins the faculty at the University at Buffalo as a Distinguished Visiting Scholar and Visiting Professor. He will also serve as Artist-in-Residence at the University of Miami’s Frost School of Music and Northwestern University-Center for New Music.