Award Recipients

Richard J. Bogomolny National Service Award:
The Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM)

Internationally renowned for its contributions to modern music, the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) has been an inspirational leader within the cultural community for more than fifty years. Since its founding in Chicago, IL in 1965, its members—including Muhal Richard Abrams, Henry Threadgill, Anthony Braxton, Amina Claudine Myers, Nicole Mitchell, and many others—have developed a body of work that encompasses the full spectrum of traditional and contemporary music, achieving broad influence across a variety of musical genres. The New York City Chapter was organized in 1983 by Muhal Richard Abrams and the Chicago members who moved to New York in the 1970’s. The organization’s programs, which include public concerts and the AACM School of Music, a free training program for city youth, cultivate and support the diverse styles of expression within the body of Black Music in the U.S., Africa, and throughout the world. AACM members are recipients of the Pulitzer Prize, multiple MacArthur “Genius” grants, the Doris Duke Artist Award, and many other accolades, and are regularly commissioned by ensembles and institutions throughout the US and abroad.

AACM chapters are located in Chicago and New York.

It is with great pleasure that Chamber Music America honors one of the most influential and venerable musical organizations of our time. On Sunday, January 20, the Award will be presented to Ernest Dawkins from the Chicago Chapter and Mrs. Muhal Richard Abrams from the New York City Chapter at the closing general session of the conference.

Visionary Award:

Chamber Music America’s Board of Directors created the Visionary Award to recognize ensemble music professionals who have led the field in creative thinking and innovation. This year’s recipient is the adventurous and forward-looking PUBLIQuartet, whose interactive programming draws connections between genres, eras, and styles of music. Its innovative series—including the group-improvisation-focused MIND|THE|GAP, and the “genre independent” commissioning program PUBLIQAccess—employ traditional instrumentation to tell urgent and engaging stories about our modern world, drawing in new audiences and showcasing voices and sensibilities rarely heard on the classical concert stage.

The Award will be presented to the Quartet at the Saturday Night Soireé on January 19.

back to top