The Cramer Quartet

Thursday, January 6, 2022, 5:00 PM ET

Jessica Park, historical violin
Chiara Fasani Stauffer, historical violin
Keats Dieffenbach, historical viola
Shirley Hunt, historical cello

Booking Contact
Jessica Park
(646) 823-7707


Lágrimas (“Tears”) Tania León 

Sonata VII from The Seven Last Words of Christ, Op. 51, Hob. XX:1Franz Joseph Haydn 

Seven Caroline Shaw

Il terremoto (“The Earthquake”) from The Seven Last Words of Christ, Op. 51, Hob. XX:1
Franz Joseph Haydn 


With period instruments and an invigorating historicallyinformed approach, the Cramer Quartet brings uncommon warmth, transparency, and texture to classical and earlyRomantic repertoire as well as commissioned works that explore and expand the sound world of gut strings. Based in New York City, members of the quartet are persons of color, women+, non-binary/transmasc, and LGBTQ+ individuals committed to advancing cultural equity in classical music. This coming spring the Cramer Quartet launches Haydn: Dialogues, an ambitious multi-year cycle combining Haydn’s 68 string quartets with sixteen new commissions by composers of marginalized identities. With this project the quartet marries its passion for historical performance with a commitment to rebalancing the string quartet canon by centering voices of communities historically underrepresented in classical music. Other 2021-22 season highlights include performances of The Seven Last Words Project presented by Five Boroughs Music Festival, as well as appearances at Music Mountain Summer Chamber Music Festival, GEMS Midtown Concerts, and a residency at Festival de Música de Santa Catarina in Jaraguá do Sul, Brazil.